Ponderings and possibilities


Worry and Stress
April 21, 2009, 10:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s not ok to just to be surviving when really we can be thriving!  We should be rejoicing in the Lord always, and again I say rejoice.  It is a command in The Word.  If I am not rejoicing, perhaps I spent too much time pointing out things that are wrong in this fallen world than being content with the things that are eternal?  Perhaps I have gone inward rather than outward – perhaps I have lost sight with HOW INCREDIBLY AMAZINGLY BIG OUR LORD IS! 

Yet again, more selfishness, self-focus and then the struggle of being in the world versus being of the world.  Yes – the worlds is messed up because of sin.  No – It does not give us an excuse not to rejoice in the Lord, in fact, it should do just the opposite.  So, when I am bumming out because someone cut me off in the car or I had to work late because I am worried – I should remember and be glad that the Lord is so much bigger than these things.  For He alone is worthy.  I am not, so be glad in that!

From Francis Chans book – Crazy Love:

Worry implies that we don’t quite trust that God is big enough to take care of what’s happening in our lives.

Stress says that the things we are involved in are important enough to merit our impatience, our lack of grace towards others, our tight grip of control.

 Philippians 4  – 4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

