Ponderings and possibilities


Tension
April 16, 2009, 7:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

There is tension everywhere.  It is in the news from all over the world, in work places and at homes.  The biggest tension I see in myself, is this battle between being in the world but not of the world. 

Examples galore at work – what counts from a lot of executives is results and the bottom line.  They don’t care what means, whether it is insulting people, putting unreasonable pressure on them or cutting them off; for them it is all about results.  They don’t understand servent leadership style management where respect, love and co-operation is just as effective longer term as micromanaging, whip cracking and letting people go.

For me, I struggle with this.  I am about the relationships and smoothly working towards goals together.  Evidently, this is a tension and when it gets to breaking point, I fall on my knees and pray that the Lord wanted me to choose relationships rather than choose being harsh with people.  I am in a spot where I am trying to figure out what is it I am supposed to be doing so far as meeting expectations for a company that changes its plans, demenour and values?

I don’t like conflict, particularly if the finger is pointed at me.  I don’t like the thought that exit interviews would be full of negative comments.  The flip side of this, is not being responsible for peoples interpretation. So what does the Bible say about work and relationships?

A man can do nothing better than to eat and drink and find satisfaction in his work. This too, I see, is from the hand of God, for without Him, who can eat or find enjoyment? (Ecclesiastes 2: 24 – 25).

Jesus said to them [the Jews who were persecuting him for healing on the Sabbath], My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too, am working. (John 5: 17).

You yourselves know that these hands of mine [Paul’s] have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: It is more blessed to give than to receive. For you yourselves know how you ought to follow our example. We were not idle when we were with you. On the contrary, we worked day and night, labouring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you. For even when we were with you, we gave you this rule: If a man will not work, he shall not eat. (2 Thessalonians 3: 7 – 10).

Questions I am asking myself —

  •  Am I selfishly ambitious? (James 3: 16)
  • Do I consider my boss’s needs (Philippians 2: 3 – 4)
  • Am I trying to steal the credit? (Luke 14: 7 – 11)
  • Am I really submitting to my boss’s authority or simply doing what I am told? (Titus 2: 9)
  • Do I genuinely forgive my boss when he or she does something wrong? (Matthew 18: 21 – 22; Ephesians 4: 32.)
  • Do I love my boss and actively seek opportunities to express that love? (1 John 3: 18)
  • Do I fail to see opportunities in apparently adverse circumstances? (James 1: 2 – 3)
  • Do I communicate my problems with my boss to him or her – and do I do it lovingly? (Matthew 18: 15)
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

